First Five (The Rejection Letters)

After quite a long break I had to take from posting here in my blog (because of some school businesses, and writing stuffs), I have decided to come back today, and share with you guys just a little something: the First Five Rejection Letters I have received in the past months. Of course, the names of the companies and agents will not be disclosed. For beginner writers, you may use this to imagine how you would feel if, but not hoping for it, you would receive one in the future. Also, feel free to compare them all with one another, and see for yourselves the similarities and differences the letters have.

January 25, 2012

Hi Celester,

Thank you so much for sharing The Chosen Ones with us! We were intrigued by your premise and especially loved the dynamic you’ve built between Reina and Harry. Unfortunately, though, we don’t feel that we can successfully offer to pursue The Chosen Ones. As I’m sure you know, there are several fairy stories on the YA marketplace right now, and we just don’t see a place for this on our list, which is already paranormal-heavy.

We hope you find the perfect place for The Chosen Ones, and thank you again for thinking of us!

Best,
(Agency’s name)

February 11, 2012

Dear Author:

Thank you so much for sending the (Agency’s name) your query. We’d like to apologize for the impersonal nature of this standard rejection letter. On average, we receive nearly 100 email query letters a day and despite that, we do read each and every query letter carefully. Unfortunately, this project is not right for us. Because this business is so subjective and opinions vary widely, we recommend that you pursue other agents. After all, it just takes one “yes” to find the right match.

Good luck with all your publishing endeavors.

Sincerely,

(3 agents’ names)

February 24, 2012

Dear Celester,

Thank you for your query.Your project sounds interesting, but after careful thought, (Agent’s name) just wasn’t as enthusiastic about the idea as he needs to be in order to take on a new project, so he’s decided to pass. As you know, these decisions are highly subjective and another agent may have a completely different opinion.

Thanks again for thinking of (Agent’s name).We wish you the very best of luck in finding a good home for your work.

Kind regards,

(Agent’s Assistant’s name)

February 28, 2012

Dear Celester:

Thanks for sending along the pages of your manuscript, The Chosen Ones. Truth be told, though, I’m afraid these pages just didn’t draw me in as much as I had hoped. I’m pressed for time these days and, what with my reservations about the project, I suspect I wouldn’t be the best fit. Thanks so much for contacting me and for giving me this opportunity. It’s much appreciated, and I’m sorry to be passing.

I wish you the very best of luck in your search for representation.

Best,

(Agent’s and Agency’s names)

February 29, 2012

Celester,

Thank you so much for sending a sample of THE CHOSEN ONES for my consideration. Unfortunately, I will have to respectfully decline your invitation to see more.

As you know, these decisions are highly subjective, and another agent may have an entirely different opinion. Thank you again for thinking of (Agency’s name), and I wish you the best of luck in finding a good home for your writing.

Thanks!

(Agent’s and Agency’s names)

Posted on 03/05/2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I think it’s great of you to share your journey as you try to find the right people and publishers who’d turn your dreams into a reality. I certainly am finding greater respect to those authors (like you) who just want to get their feet out the door. I’ll be looking forward to reading your posts!

    Best of luck!

    -Joy-

    • Thank you so much, Joy! I think it’s great, too, because I want other writers, who wants to go the author path, to know what they’ll be going through “AFTER” they finish writing their novels. It’s a bit of a bummer that I haven’t found someone still who would be more than happy to represent me, but I am happy that these rejections are straightforward (although I still feel pain in my heart every time I decide to read them again). Thank you for calling me an author, btw. Even I don’t call myself that way 😛

      Much love and respect!
      C. M.

Leave a Reply

